ATEX and IECEx Explained


 ATEX or IECEx certified products are required in any environment that may or does contain explosive, or potentially explosive conditions. Although most of us in the industry have heard of these certifications, there may be some confusion on what each certification is, and how they are different.


The name “ATEX” is derived from the French words “ATmosphère EXplosibles”. ATEX is a mandatory certification across Europe, and involves all stages of production from the beginning stages of construction to the actual installation and use of the equipment.

ATEX consists of 2 parts:

Directive 99/92/EC: This is the “ATEX Use Directive,” which focuses primarily on worker health and safety in explosive or potentially explosive environments. It includes selection, installation, inspection and maintenance of the certified explosion proof equipment.

Directive 2014/34/EU: The “ATEX Equipment Directive” focuses on the manufacture of the products, and the trade and sales of the explosion proof equipment.


IECEx, or “International Electrotechnical Commission Explosive,” is a voluntary certification used internationally for safe explosion proof equipment that can be traded across countries confidently. The IECEx standard reduces the need for re-testing and re-certification, since many countries operate under different standards.

The IECEx certification is based on the IEC 60079-0 standard, which has no government involvement. To be certified a product must go through a IECEx test house for both the product and the manufacturing facility, with surveillance of the procedure.

Countries currently participating in the IECEx Scheme include: most of Europe, Australia, Canada, China, Russia, South Africa and the US.

The Breakdown

ATEX and IECEx have many similarities in terms of providing assurance that everything from the equipment and installation, through the manufacturing, operation and maintenance of the products, complies with explosion proof requirements.

The main difference between the two certifications is the geographical location where the certifications are recognized and accepted. ATEX is a mandatory certification in Europe, while IECEx is not mandatory and accepted amongst multiple countries. Additionally, an ATEX certificate can be based on an IECEx test report, but ATEX documentation may not support an IECEx certificate. Because of this it is now common for products to have both certifications.






Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Keep up with Larson Electronics new products, discount codes & latest news!

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
100% Privacy. I will never spam you.

Recent Posts

3PH Soft Starter 101: Basics and Applications

Heavy-duty motors inside industrial machines can get damaged several ways. To prevent wear and tear, one must address various points...

What’s the Deal With Non-Destructive Testing Lights?

If you have never heard of Ultraviolet Non-Destructive Testing (NDT) lighting your business could be seriously missing out on labor-free...

County Judge Duties and Responsibilities

In the US, county judges are vital to the future of local communities. They are in a position to apply...

Add Some Spark to your Exterior with Larson Electronic Landscape Lighting

Spring is near, why not start your spring cleaning by sprucing up your yard with upscale outdoor LED lights? Larson...

What is the Difference Between Infrared and Red Light?

  Conventional red light, such as lights found on traffic signaling systems, and infrared light, a non-visible beam commonly found...